Oldtimer Motorcycle Restoration or Rebuilding?

With an oldtimer motorcycle the question always arises „Restoration or new construction? It’s all about saving the substance with expert knowledge and a sense of proportion and to process the technology in its original condition. To revive something old is not only nostalgic, it is a value in itself, which is just lost, to my concern.

It happens again and again that a motorcycle crosses my path and I can’t say no to it. Simply because I find it interesting and absolutely want to ride it.

I ride all the treasures shown here myself until they find a new owner after 1-2 years.

 

new construction BMW R 75/5, year of construction 1973

For example „Elise“ 75/5, Bj 73, which I completely rebuilt in 2017 out of 20 crates and boxes. All parts were reconditioned until they were like new or if that didn’t make sense, the parts were procured again.

„Elise“ because my daughter Ella worked hard during her holidays. Today „Elise“ is a lot of fun again, she is a vintage motorcycle in new condition and conveys the driving culture of past times.

previous arrow
next arrow
PlayPause
previous arrownext arrow
Slider

Michelle BMW R 50/5, year of construction 1973 – restoration

Michelle ran into me at a farmer’s house, who let the good one rot in the barn.

Starting Michelle was a sweaty fiasco. She is tuned a la „Michel“, with sharp camshaft, without starter and very light swing, without gear rim, but with 2in1 exhaust system.

„You have to listen to how she sounds,“ said the farmer, „she screams! I immediately found Michelle irresistible when she finally ran the test drive was a nightmare. Nothing worked really well except that the engine spun with violent vibrations.

I took it with me, I said, without knowing what I was getting myself into. Everything had to be overhauled and adjusted, fork, gearbox, electrics, swingarm new, carburetor disassembled, ultrasonic bath. I decided for a „patina restoration“ of all visible parts and leverages, footrests to the rear and K&N air filters were installed. Nothing stood in the way of the first real test drive after 3 months.

previous arrow
next arrow
PlayPause
previous arrownext arrow
Slider

Old, completely analog oldtimer motorcycles are a bit more difficult to move and you have to be fully involved, but they thank you with fantastic emotions. To move Michelle gives me the feeling to play in a movie of the 30’s, above me rattling biplanes, the ladies wearing costumes and hats like in Ascot and cars there are very few. Michelle is as fast as an arrow, because from the 70s – almost Hitech, the same is true for the „Flying Arrow“.

 

BMW R 100RS, year of construction 1984

With the RS it is such a thing. That was my second motorcycle bought in 1985, BJ 77, manifold not yet blue 5000 km. At that time there was such a thing still. My first thousand ccm and I still have the feeling from back then at 20, when I drive them, no drug can do that, let alone a psychologist…

previous arrow
next arrow
PlayPause
previous arrownext arrow
Slider

Yes, and I ran into „Edwige“. Bj 84, a bit grey with a maintenance jam, it doesn’t look like an oldtimer motorcycle yet thanks to the fairing.  I have repaired the maintenance jam and „Edwige“ 2 years as an everyday vehicle used and maintained. Even Gabi, my wife likes to ride with me. But she prefers the GS…

 

GS or not GS – BMW R 100 GS, year of construction 88 vs R1200 GS, year 2010

To discuss this would go beyond the scope of this site and is already being discussed on the web and at the beer tables.

„There is a life after the GS“ I say after selling my tuned 2010 (132 hp). It’s almost unbeatable on the mountain, but at some point it was too heavy – too upright – too comfortable, too perfect, and then, as my top bike, not enough power – too little sporty. But that’s where the guys from „Hufelandstrasse“ are working on.

 

Yes and there I ran across an 88 GS and I said to myself, if already a GS then an old one. I don’t feel that the GS is an old-timer bike, although it is one.

A bit of what to do, but now she rides tip top as an everyday and shopping motorcycle. Even a 4500 km Romania trip 2018 with Enduromania excursions she survived without complaint despite offroader inserts and crash. Just GS!

previous arrow
next arrow
PlayPause
previous arrownext arrow
Slider

Oldtimer Motorrad Restaurieren oder Neuaufbau?

Bei einem Oldtimer Motorrad stellt sich immer die Frage „Restauration oder Neuaufbau?“ Es geht darum mit Sachverstand und Augenmaß die Substanz zu retten und die Technik im Originalzustand aufzuarbeiten. Etwas altes wieder zu beleben ist nicht nur nostalgisch, es ist ein Wert an sich, der gerade verloren geht, finde ich.

Immer wieder kommt es vor, dass mir ein Motorrad über den Weg läuft, bei dem ich nicht nein sagen kann. Einfach, weil ich es interessant finde und es unbedingt einmal fahren will.

Alle hier gezeigten Schätzchen fahre ich zunächst selbst bis diese nach 1-2 Jahren eventuell einen neuen Besitzer finden.

 

Neuaufbau BMW R 75/5, Baujahr 1973

So zum Beispiel „Elise“ 75/5, Bj 73, die ich 2017 in Einzelteilen aus 20 Kisten und Schachteln komplett neu aufgebaut habe. Dabei wurden sämtliche Teile aufgearbeitet bis diese wie neu waren oder wenn das keinen Sinn machte, wurden die Teile neu beschafft.

„Elise“ deswegen weil meiner Tochter Ella in Ihren Ferien fleißig mithalf. So macht „Elise“ heute wieder viel Spaß, sie ist ein Oldtimer Motorrad im Neuzustand und vermittelt die Fahrkultur vergangener Zeiten.

previous arrow
next arrow
PlayPause
ArrowArrow
Slider

Michelle BMW R 50/5, Baujahr 1973 – Restauration

Michelle lief mir bei einem Bauern über den Weg, der die Gute in der Scheune vergammeln ließ.

Michelle zu starten war ein schweißtreibendes Fiasko. Sie ist a la Michel getunt, mit scharfer Nockenwelle, ohne Anlasser und sehr leichtem Schwung, ohne Zahnkranz, dafür mit 2in1 Auspuffanlage.

„Du musst Dir anhören wie die klingt“ sagte der Bauer, „die brüllt!“ Ich fand Michelle sofort unwiderstehlich, als Sie endlich lief war die Probefahrt ein Alptraum. Nichts funktionierte wirklich gut, außer dass sich der Motor mit heftigen Vibrationen drehte.

Ich nehme sie mit sagte ich, ohne zu wissen, auf was ich mich einlasse. Da musste alles überholt und eingestellt werden, Gabel, Getriebe, Elektrik, Schwinge neu, Vergaser zerlegt, Ultraschallbad. Ich entschied mich für eine  „Patinarestaurierung“ aller Sichtteile und Hebeleien, Fußrasten nach hinten und K&N Luftfilter wurden verbaut. Der ersten echten Probefahrt stand nach 3 Monaten nichts mehr im Weg.

previous arrow
next arrow
PlayPause
ArrowArrow
Slider

Alte, völlig analoge Oldtimer Motorräder sind zwar etwas schwerer zu bewegen und man muss voll bei der Sache sein, aber sie danken es einem mit phantastischen Emotionen. Michelle zu bewegen gib mir das Gefühl in einem Film der 30er Jahre mit zu spielen, über mir knatternde Doppeldecker, die Damen tragen Kostüm und Hut wie in Ascot und Autos gibt es nur sehr wenige. Dabei ist Michelle pfeilschnell, da aus den 70ern – fast schon Hitech, gleiches gilt für die „Flying Arrow“ .

 

BMW R 100RS, Baujahr 1984

Bei der RS ist es so eine Sache. Das war mein zweites Motorrad 1985 gekauft, BJ 77, Krümmer noch nicht blau 5000 km. Damals gab es sowas noch. Meine erste Tausender und ich habe immer noch das Gefühl von damals mit 20, wenn ich sie fahre, das schafft keine Droge, Geschweige denn ein Psychologe…

previous arrow
next arrow
PlayPause
ArrowArrow
Slider

Ja und da lief mir „Edwige“ über den Weg. Bj 84, etwas ergraut mit Wartungsstau, wirkt sie dank der Verkleidung noch nicht wie ein Oldtimer Motorrad.  Ich habe den Wartungsstau behoben und „Edwige“ 2 Jahre als Alltagsfahrzeug genutzt und gepflegt. Sogar Gabi, meine Frau fährt gerne mit. Aber die GS ist Ihr doch lieber…

 

GS oder nicht GS – BMW R 100 GS, Baujahr 88 vs R1200 GS, Bj 2010

Dies zu erörtern, würde die Seite sprengen und wird ohnehin schon flächendeckend im Web und an den Biertischen diskutiert.

„Es gibt ein Leben nach der GS“ sage ich, nachdem ich meine getunte 2010er (132 PS) verkauft hatte. Ist fast unschlagbar am Berg, aber war mir irgendwann zu schwer -zu aufrecht- zu bequem, zu perfekt, und dafür dann, als mein Topbike auch nicht genug Leistung – zu wenig sportlich. Aber da arbeiten die Jungs aus der Hufelandstrasse ja dran.

 

Ja und da lief mir eine 88er GS über den Weg und ich sagte mir, wenn schon eine GS dann eine alte. Ich empfinde die GS nicht als Oldimer Motorrad, obwohl sie eins ist.

Bisschen was war zu tun, aber nun fährt sie tip top als Alltags- und Einkaufsmotorrad. Auch einen 4500 km Rumänientrip 2018 mit Enduromania-Ausflügen überstand sie trotz Offroadeinlagen und Sturz klaglos. GS eben!

previous arrow
next arrow
PlayPause
ArrowArrow
Slider