A design motorcycle – so to build a custom bike is arbitrarily difficult, because everything you can imagine is possible. The range in style and technology goes from the Flying Arrow, an oldschool Caferacer in the style of the 50s, through the BMW K1600R naked – high-tech state of the art and the Harley Davidsoon V-ROD limited, an aesthetic power cruiser, to the Alien Raptor BSAR, one of the last dinosaurs as a road racer. But what comes next? An Aprilia Vintage -Road -Racer has just been finished in Mai 2019. Is the next projekt the STEALTH ZERO E?

 

Flying Arrow

BMW K 1600 R naked

HD V-Rod limited

BASR

STEALTH ZERO E

New 2019 Aprilia Vintage-Road-Racer with Superbikedesign

Italy, German place of longing also for motorcycles, whereas the heart of the SL Falco 1000 comes from Austria. In principle the Falco is an RSV Mille if you give it back the right ingredients. You can also overdo it, but see for yourself:

 

previous arrow
next arrow
Slider

 

The racing fairing was modified strongly, the rear 30 mm higher and the seat again 25 mm, fork put through and so the good Tourer became a hot racing device in the design of the Superbike WM 2014. 180 cm one should be already…

Flying Arrow, BMW R 100 year of construction 77,
„Scherb“ tuning

My homage to the beautiful old 2 valve BMWs.  The Fascination of aviation.

previous arrow
next arrow
PlayPause
previous arrownext arrow
Slider

A BMW RS with wasp waist, in the design and look of yesterday’s aluminium aircraft? On the contrary, the Flying Arrow has a completely redesigned frame and lies like a board, the more than 80 hp from the shear tuning also help to keep the competition away. On this Caferacer you always have a grin on your face. This design motorcycle is also available without front fairing and optionally with „comfortable“ ergonomics.

BMW K 1600 R naked

 

„From the 6-cylinder (K 1600 GT) one would have to make something horny, a real design motorcycle“ decided Christian Ebert, the boss of BMW Ebert in Höchberg near Würzburg and then we screwed 80 kg down from the perfect large series travel steamer.
What remained was an insanity of electronic bus modules, a huge radiator and the ABS control unit, which had to go back into the intestines, not to forget the 6 exhaust tailpipes. A smaller tank was made, the cooling load distributed between 2 radiators left and right.

All necessary new parts were to be found in the BMW construction kit and so it was also quickly clear that the design should look in such a way that it could come also from BMW studios. After most of the parts were stowed in the new rear and the tailpipes were connected to the HP2 tailpot, the clamodeling was started.

 

The technical detail solution and several design sketches ran parallel.

 

 

 

 

 

 

The result is 80 kg lighter, an ultimate, very exclusive driving machine with perfect Supermoto ergonomics and without luggage option (not unfortunately). Nakedbike pure with the fantastic and so far unmatched BMW 6-cylinder engine and a perfect BMW original chassis. This is motorcycle design a´la BS CUSTOMS.

There are already inquiries whether one could do there not still something – one can.

 

V-ROD custom – limited edition

You have to make a Harley again, I thought to myself and drove to the local Harley dealer.

If so, then a V-ROD, he said and showed me the ugly duckling with the Porsche engine. And there we went. There are really many impaled V-Rods, I thought during the research – it should be something special. Strong, beautiful and best of all fast.

previous arrow
next arrow
PlayPause
previous arrownext arrow
Slider

The ingredients were a 280 rear tire, the corresponding front wheel and the matching swingarm, as well as an open air filter with matching mapping, super wide handlebars. The frame over the engine I absolutely wanted to disguise and the battery box at the front with. Nobody had done that before. A 5-part form with 2 inserts then realized the design draft. The rear form is 3-part. But also the geometry of the new seat shell has it in itself. So if someone wants to customize his old V-Rod, give it to me! Up to 145PS works.

 

Every custom bike can be developed into a theme bike through lettering and graphics.

A hardcore version could look like this – dragracing only!

How it all began: BSAR – the Alien Raptor

As a product designer and motorcycle enthusiast, the desire to design a motorcycle myself was always present, but impossible for a long time. It was and is always about the riding feeling – what do you experience while riding?  A Harley engine – pure torque in a racing suspension and a design statement that won’t come back. The solution was once to do something crazy that wouldn’t come back – the goal was defined.

Mit der BSAR im Spessart, beim Engländer
previous arrow
next arrow
PlayPause
previous arrownext arrow
Slider

A dinosaur from an engine in a rough frame was the top-class basis for prehistoric road racing. With a long Harris swingarm from England, magnesium rims from Italy and Germany, Mikuni carburetors from Japan, space disk brakes from the USA and aluminum welding art from Kist were the ingredients for this global alien.

 

What´s next?

STEALTH ZERO E, coming soon…

Ein Design-Motorrad – also ein Custombike zu bauen ist beliebig schwer, denn alles geht. Was man sich vorstellen kann ist möglich. Die Bandbreite geht stilistisch und technisch von der Flying Arrow einem oldschool Caferacer im Stile der 50er über die BMW K1600R naked – Hightech-State of the Art und der Harley Davidsoon V-ROD limited, einem ästhetischen Power-Cruiser, bis zur Alien Raptor BSAR, einem der letzten Dinosaurier als Road-Racer.

 

 

Flying Arrow

BMW K 1600 R naked

HD V-Rod limited

BASR

 

Flying Arrow, BMW R 100 Bj 77,
Scherb tuning

Meine Hommage an die schönen alten 2 Ventiler.  Faszination Luftfahrt.

Test
previous arrow
next arrow
PlayPause
ArrowArrow
Slider

Eine BMW RS mit Wespentaille, im Design und Look der Aluminium-Flugzeuge von gestern? Ganz im Gegenteil, die Flying Arrow hat einen komplett überarbeiteten Rahmen und liegt wie ein Brett, die über 80 PS aus dem Scherb-Tuning helfen zusätzlich, sich die Konkurrenz vom Leib zu halten. Auf diesem Caferacer hat man immer ein Grinsen im Gesicht. Dieses Design-Motorrad gibt es auch ohne Frontverkleidung und wahlweise mit „gemütlicher“ Ergonomie.

BMW K 1600 R naked

 

„Aus der 6-Zylinder (K 1600 GT) müsste man mal was geiles machen, ein echtes Design-Motorrad“ entschied Christian Ebert, der Chef von BMW Ebert in Höchberg bei Würzburg und dann schraubten wir 80 kg runter vom perfekten Großserien-Reisedampfer.


Was übrig blieb war ein Wahnsinn an Elektronik-Bus-Modulen, ein riesiger Kühler und die ABS-Steuereinheit, die wieder zurück in die Eingeweide zurück mussten, die 6 Auspuff-Endrohre nicht zu vergessen. Ein kleinerer Tank wurde angefertigt, die Kühllast auf 2 Kühler rechts und links verteilt.

Alle notwendigen Neuteile waren im BMW Baukasten zu finden und so war auch schnell klar, dass das Design so aussehen sollte, dass es auch aus BMW Ateliers stammen könnte. Nach dem die meiste Teile im neuen Heck verstaut und die Endrohre mit dem HP2 Endttopf verbunden waren, ging es an das Clamodeling.

 

Parallel lief die technische Detaillösung und etliche Design-Skizzen.

 

 

 

 

 

 

previous arrow
next arrow
PlayPause
ArrowArrow
Slider

Das Ergebnis ist 80 kg leichter, eine ultimative, sehr exclusive Fahrmaschine mit perfekter Supermoto-Ergonomie und ohne Gepäckoption (nicht leider). Nakedbike pur mit dem fantastischen und bisher unerreichtem BMW 6-Zylinder Motor und einem perfekten BMW Originalen-Fahrwerk. Das ist Motorrad Design a´la BS CUSTOMS.

Es gibt schon Anfragen ob man da nicht noch was machen könnte – kann man.

 

V-ROD custom – limited edition

Man müsste mal wieder eine Harley machen, dachte ich mir und fuhr zum örtlichen Harley Dealer.

Wenn, dann eine V-ROD, sagte der und zeigte mir das hässliche Entlein mit dem Porschemotor. Und schon gings los. Gepimpte V-Rods gibt’s wirklich viele, dachte ich bei der Recherche – etwas besonderes müsste es schon sein. Stark, schön und am besten schnell.

Bernhard Schwanitz V-ROD limited edition
Bernhard Schwanitz V-ROD limited edition
Bernhard Schwanitz V-ROD limited edition
Bernhard Schwanitz V-ROD limited edition
previous arrow
next arrow
PlayPause
ArrowArrow
Slider

Die Zutaten waren ein 280er Hinterreifen, das entsprechende Vorderrad und die passende Schwinge, sowie ein offener Luftfilter mit passendem Mapping, superbreiter Lenker. Den Rahmen über dem Motor wollte ich unbedingt verkleiden und die Batteriebox vorne gleich mit. So hatte das noch niemand gemacht. Eine 5-teilige Form mit 2 Einlegteilen realisierte dann den Designentwurf. Die Heck-Form ist 3-teilig. Aber auch die Geometrie der neuen Sitzschale hat es in sich. Also wenn jemand seine alte V-Rod customizen lassen will, her damit! Bis 145PS geht.

 

Jedes Custom-Bike kann durch Lettering und Grafik zum Themenbike weiterentwickelt werden.

Eine Hardcore-Variante könnte so aussehen – dragracing only!

Wie alles begann: BSAR – die Alien Raptor

Als Produkt-Designer und Motorrad-Enthusiast war der Wunsch einmal selbst ein Motorrad zu gestalten immer präsent, aber lange unmöglich. Es ging und geht mir immer um das Fahrgefühl – was erlebt man beim Fahren?  Ein Harley  Motor – also Drehmoment pur in einem Rennfahrwerk und ein Design Statement das so nicht wieder kommt. Die Lösung war einmal etwas ganz verrücktes zu machen, was so auch nicht wieder kommt-Das Ziel war definiert.

Mit der BSAR im Spessart, beim Engländer
previous arrow
next arrow
PlayPause
ArrowArrow
Slider

Ein Saurier von Motor in einem Rau-Rahmen war die hochkarätige Basis für prähistorisches Road-Racing. Mit dazu eine lange Harris Schwinge aus England, Magnesium Felgen aus Italien und Deutschland, Mikuni-Vergaser aus Japan, Space-Disk-Bremsen aus den USA und Alu-Schweißkunst aus Kist waren die Zutaten für diesen globalen Alien.

 

What´s next?

Aprilia SL 1000 coming soon…